5 Reasons Why Runners are Technically Insane

I’m sure you’ve heard the definition of insanity from Albert Einstein stating that “Insanity is defined as doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results”. It’s also defined as extreme foolishness.

I’ve come to discover how I might be portrayed as loopy, crazy or nuts when I talk to people outside of my running community.

Here are some examples of reasons why runners (or maybe just me) can be perceived as technically insane…

1. We pay to run

Last time I checked, you can step out your door and start running. I mean if Forrest Gump did it, so can I. But of course we drop anywhere from $15 to sometimes up to $200+ (Boston 😳) on a race, because of a mass-produced medal, pride for finishing, and taking the priceless Instagram photo.

Gelato and Rome Marathon Medal
Gelato and Rome Marathon Medal

 

2. We talk about goo, poop, losing toenails, and bleeding nipples

Running terms can sound like we’re talking baby chatter or lines out of a horror movie. Perhaps our conversations might even dumb us down a bit. Take your pick.

Notice the goos and tube of body chaffing cream: runner essentials
Notice the goos and tube of body chaffing cream: runner essentials

 

3. We love to support each other with inspiring quotes, pats on backs and virtual high fives but we’ll easily tear someone a new one if we’re hangry

Ok maybe this is just me, but my boyfriend is fully aware of what he calls “the black eyes”. This is when I haven’t had food in 2 hours when I’m marathon training or not training for that matter.

I'm only happy because there is food in front of me
I’m only happy because there is food in front of me

 

4. Our idea of R&R includes deep tissue massage and bringing our sneakers and workout clothes on vacation 

Sports massage can be a combination of deep tissue, active release, Graston, and/or trigger point therapy. The best way I like to describe it is a hot knife cutting through you. You’ll sweat, moan and groan, and think your muscle is being ripped away from your bone. These are not a day at the spa. And to top it all off, I take several run-cations. If it’s not running; it’s hiking, biking, paddleboarding, wakeboarding, snowboarding, swimming, golfing, paragliding, etc. Even if I’m at the beach, chilling and reading, the book is about running.

I even get my friends to run when on vacation, suckers
I even get my friends to run when on vacation, suckers

4. We have a tumultuous relationship with running

Our running relationship can have the highest highs and the lowest lows. We laugh, cry, have fear, crash and burn, sometimes sh*t ourselves, and say never again, yet we still come back. We always come back.

 Pretty much how I feel after every run
Pretty much how I feel after every run

I know some of my runner friends will have a chuckle. Others will continue to ponder my sanity. I may have even deterred some of you from running, but if we can’t have a sense of humor how can we laugh at life’s absurdities?

One thought on “5 Reasons Why Runners are Technically Insane

Leave a comment